The Connecticut Academy of Sciences and Engineering selects 12 new UConn faculty

The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering (CASE), an organization of academic and industry professionals who advise state government on matters of science and industry, announced the election of 35 new members in 2024. Twelve of those new members — more than a third — are UConn faculty.

The selected UConn researchers span five schools and include two research administrators: Indrajeet Chaubey, dean of the College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources (CAHNR), and Lindsay DiStefano, associate vice president for research development.

“I am honored to be among the UConn faculty who have become members of the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering (CASE) this year,” says Chaubey. “This recognition speaks to the impact that UConn faculty have on their fields of study, as well as on the people of our state through research and discovery. I would like to thank CASE for recognizing these scientific achievements and the value our faculty brings to Connecticut.”

Eleven UConn faculty was elected to CASE in 2023 and twelve were elected in 2022. UConn remains one of the largest contributors to CASE members, who each use their personal expertise to promote the application of science and technology for the public good and economic well-being of the nation.

“UConn scientists, engineers and clinicians have a profound impact that improves the lives of Connecticut citizens and industry. The CASE induction recognizes their contributions and their ability to shape the state's future and culture of scientific excellence,” says Pamir Alpay, UConn's vice president for research, innovation and entrepreneurship. A CASE member since 2012, Alpay nominated DiStefano for membership this year. “I am proud to congratulate our new inductees and am glad to call them my colleagues.”

The new UConn inductions are as follows:

  1. But Mr. BazziCharles H. Knapp Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering, UConn College of Engineering
  2. Indrajeet Chaubeydean, UConn College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources
  3. Bodhisattva Chaudhuriprofessor, UConn College of Pharmacy
  4. Yupeng ChenAssociate Professor, Biomedical Engineering, UConn College of Engineering
  5. Caroline N. DealyAssociate Professor, Orthodontics, UConn Health
  6. Lindsay J. DiStefanoassociate vice president for research development, UConn
  7. Avinash Dongareprofessor, Materials Science and Engineering, UConn College of Engineering
  8. Lisa T. KuhnProfessor and Associate Chair of Biomedical Engineering, UConn Health
  9. Yi Liprofessor, Department of Plant Sciences and Landscape Architecture, UConn
  10. Rebecca PageProfessor, Department of Cell Biology, UConn Health
  11. Wolfgang the FifthProfessor of Molecular Biology and Biophysics, UConn Health
  12. David PierceProfessor, Mechanical, Aerospace and Manufacturing Engineering, UConn College of Engineering

CASE membership is selective. Researchers are nominated and selected by the current membership based on their achievements in science, engineering and/or technology.

Benchmarks for these achievements may include original published books and papers, patents, pioneering in new and emerging fields and innovative products, outstanding leadership of nationally recognized technical teams, and external professional awards in recognition of scientific and engineering excellence.

The new members will be inducted at the Academy's 49th Annual Meeting and Dinner at Woodwinds in Branford, CT on May 21, 2024.

Leave a Comment